Der Rosenkavalier

Comedy for music in three acts (1911)

Music by

Richard Strauss

Text by

Hugo von Hofmannsthal

The Viennese aristocracy are no strangers to family feuds: boorish Baron Ochs auf Lerchenau interrupts the morning tête-à-tête between his cousin, the Marschallin, and her young lover Octavian, to ask for her help with his wedding plans, which are steered more by financial gain than love. Ochs does not suspect that Octavian himself, who is chosen to deliver the engagement rose, will eventually fall in love with the bride.

After his dramatic one-act works »Salome« and »Elektra«, which were based on ancient myths, Richard Strauss was drawn to lighter, more cheerful material for his next opera in the style of Mozart’s comic operas. His change of direction was embraced by Hugo von Hofmannsthal whose libretto created an artificial, rococo Vienna with customs and dialects as convincing as they are imaginary, which Strauss refined with anachronistic waltzes. This fantasy Vienna, bursting with joie de vivre, wit and traditional class boundaries, but which also bears traces of depression and morbidity, is not merely a reflection of the 18th century but also of the declining belle époque. Strauss’ score offers the full range of rich orchestral timbres with an unrestrained indulgence that culminates in the unsurpassed closing section: yet deep ruptures also appear. Only a few years before the collapse of the Habsburg monarchy, »The Rosenkavalier« is a swansong to an entire epoch.

Dates

Duration: approx. 4:40 hrs including two intervals after act 1 and act 2
Language: In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German), Speaker: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

Duration: approx. 4:40 hrs including two intervals after act 1 and act 2
Language: In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German), Speaker: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

Duration: approx. 4:40 hrs including two intervals after act 1 and act 2
Language: In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German), Speaker: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

For the last time this season
Duration: approx. 4:40 hrs including two intervals after act 1 and act 2
Language: In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German), Speaker: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

Medien

plot

Act one
After a joint night of lovemaking, the “Feldmarschallin” Princess Werdenberg and her young lover Count Octavian Rofrano awaken. Breakfast is interrupted by an approaching male voice: despite their fears, it is not the Feldmarschall returning unexpectedly early, but Baron Ochs auf Lerchenau, a poor cousin of the princess from the countryside. While Octavian dresses up as a chambermaid, Ochs reports to the Feldmarschallin of his plans to marry. Normally not one to leave any mischief undone, he now wants to consolidate his finances by marrying Sophie, the daughter of the newly ennobled, extremely wealthy bourgeois Faninal. For this, he asks Marschallin to suggest the name of a noble Rosenkavalier (rose-bearer), who on the morning of their wedding could announce the arrival of the bridegroom by delivering a rose to the bride. The Marschallin suggests Octavian, and she shows him a portrait of the count. He is surprised at the similarity to the chamber maid “Mariandl”, on whom he has already cast his eye and invited to dine with him.
At the Marschallin’s morning audience, there is quite a hullabaloo: several supplicants, an Italian tenor and a paper artist come and go. Ochs argues with the notary on the details of the wedding contract, the scheming gossipers Valzacchi and Annina offer Ochs their services.
The Marschallin has everyone cast out and is left behind in a melancholy mood. She thinks about the young Sophie, who is about to enter a marriage of convenience just like her own, and her own aging. She sends off Octavian, now dressed in his normal attire, saying that he will sooner or later leave her for a younger woman.


Act two
At the Faninal home, all await the arrival of the Rosenkavalier. Faninal looks forward to the social advancement that is linked to the marriage, the governess Marianne Leitmetzerin muses about the good match and Sophie about marriage in general. Octavian arrives and hands Sophie the rose, but both feel immediately attracted to one another, which puts them in an awkward situation. Sophie feels no attraction at all for her soon-to-be betrothed, who then arrives with his coarse manners.
While Faninal and Ochs dedicate themselves to signing the marriage contract, Octavian and Sophie admit their attraction to one another. Valzacchi and Annina spy them kissing in secret. Ochs does not become angry, not even when Octavian tells him that Sophie does not want to marry him. When the furious young rival challenges him to a duel and grazes him slightly with his rapier, mayhem breaks out. Faninal tosses Octavian out, fears social scandal and wants to force his insolent daughter to marry.
In the meantime, Ochs has recovered and curses Octavian and everything about city life. His mood improves when Annina brings him a letter from “Mariandl” accepting his invitation.


Act three
Ochs receives “Mariandl” to dinner and tries to create a romantic atmosphere. But during his attempts to woo her, he feels unpleasantly reminded of Octavian. Strange occurrences increasingly unsettle him until Annina arrives in costume with children in tow, claiming to be Ochs’s abandoned wife. The ruckus catches the attention of the police. The policeman interrogates Ochs, who, feeling caught in a corner, presents “Mariandl” as his betrothed, Miss Faninal. But then the real bride and her stunned father arrive, and the latter faints. While “Mariandl” turns back into Octavian, the Feldmarschallin surprisingly arrives on the scene. She assuages the policeman, clears up the masquerade, calls off the marriage plans and insists that Ochs take his leave.
The Feldmarschallin remains behind with Sophie and Octavian, and immediately notices their feelings for one another. She gives in and releases Octavian from his promises to her. But will Octavian be happy with Sophie?
 

programme book

Read more

Der Rosenkavalier

Komödie für Musik in drei Aufzügen (1911)

Musik von

Richard Strauss

Text von

Hugo von Hofmannsthal

Ärger mit der Verwandtschaft macht auch vor dem Wiener Hochadel nicht halt: Der ungehobelte Baron Ochs auf Lerchenau stört das morgendliche Tête-à-tête seiner Vetterin, der Feldmarschallin, mit ihrem jungen Liebhaber Octavian, um sie für seine eher von pekuniären Interessen geleiteten Hochzeitspläne um Hilfe zu bitten. Dabei ahnt er nicht, dass der zum Rosenkavalier bestimmte Octavian sich schließlich selbst in die Braut verliebt …

Nach den archaisch-dramatischen Einaktern »Salome« und »Elektra« suchte Richard Strauss für seine nächste Oper nach einem leichteren, heiteren Stoff im Stil von Mozarts Opernkomödien – ein Ansinnen, auf das sich auch Hugo von Hofmannsthal gern einließ. Er schuf mit seinem Libretto ein künstliches Rokoko-Wien mit ebenso überzeugenden wie erfundenen Bräuchen und Dialekten, das Strauss auf musikalischer Seite noch mit anachronistischen Walzern veredelte. Im diesem Fantasie-Wien voller Lebenslust, Schwänke und althergebrachter Standesgrenzen, aber auch voll Depression und Morbidität spiegelt sich nicht nur das 18. Jahrhundert, sondern erst recht die dem Ende zusteuernde Belle Époque. So bietet Strauss’ Partitur noch einmal den ganzen orchestralen Klangfarbenreichtum auf, schier hemmungsloses Schwelgen, das im in puncto musikalischer Schönheit unübertroffenen Schlussterzett kulminiert, zeigt aber auch tiefe Brüche. Nur wenige Jahre vor dem Zusammenbruch der Donaumonarchie wird »Der Rosenkavalier« zum Abgesang auf eine ganze Epoche.

Termine

Vorverkaufsbeginn am 16. Mai 2020 12 Uhr
Dauer: ca. 4:40 h inklusive zwei Pausen nach dem 1. und 2. Akt
Sprache: In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn, Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung

Vorverkaufsbeginn am 16. Mai 2020 12 Uhr
Dauer: ca. 4:40 h inklusive zwei Pausen nach dem 1. und 2. Akt
Sprache: In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn, Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung

Vorverkaufsbeginn am 16. Mai 2020 12 Uhr
Dauer: ca. 4:40 h inklusive zwei Pausen nach dem 1. und 2. Akt
Sprache: In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn, Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung

Zum letzten Mal in dieser Spielzeit
Vorverkaufsbeginn am 16. Mai 2020 12 Uhr
Dauer: ca. 4:40 h inklusive zwei Pausen nach dem 1. und 2. Akt
Sprache: In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn, Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung

Medien

Handlung

Erster Aufzug
Nach gemeinsam verbrachter Liebesnacht erwachen die Feldmarschallin Fürstin Werdenberg und ihr junger Liebhaber, Graf Octavian Rofrano. Das Frühstück wird jedoch von einer näherkommenden Männerstimme gestört: Entgegen der Befürchtungen ist es aber nicht der vorzeitig heimkehrende Feldmarschall, sondern Baron Ochs auf Lerchenau, ein verarmter Vetter der Marschallin vom Land. Während sich Octavian als Kammerzofe verkleidet, berichtet Ochs der Marschallin von seinen Hochzeitsplänen: Er, sonst kein Kind von Traurigkeit, will zwecks Konsolidierung Sophie ehelichen, die Tochter des steinreichen Neuadligen Faninal. Dafür erbittet er von der Marschallin den Vorschlag eines standesgemäßen Rosenkavaliers, der am Hochzeitsmorgen durch die Überreichung einer Rose der Braut die Ankunft des Bräutigams ankündigen soll. Die Marschallin schlägt Octavian vor, von dem sie Ochs ein Bild zeigt. Der wundert sich über die Ähnlichkeit mit der Kammerzofe »Mariandl«, auf die er bereits ein Auge geworfen und sie daher zum Souper eingeladen hat.
Beim Lever bei der Marschallin herrscht Trubel: Es kommen diverse Bittsteller sowie ein italienischer Tenor und ein Papierkünstler; Ochs streitet mit dem Notar über Details des Ehevertrags; das Intrigantenpaar Valzacchi und Annina bietet Ochs seine Dienste an.
Die Marschallin lässt alle hinauswerfen und bleibt melancholisch verstimmt zurück. Sie räsoniert über die junge Sophie, der eine Vernunftehe wie die ihre bevorsteht, und ihr eigenes Altern. Den zurückverwandelten Octavian schickt sie mit dem Hinweis fort, dass er sie früher oder später für eine Jüngere verlassen werde.


Zweiter Aufzug
Im Hause Faninal erwartet alles gespannt die Ankunft des Rosenkavaliers. Faninal freut sich auf seinen mit der Heirat verbundenen gesellschaftlichen Aufstieg, die Duenna Marianne Leitmetzerin über die gute Partie und Sophie auf die Ehe allgemein. Octavian tritt ein und überreicht Sophie die Rose, wobei sich beide zueinander hingezogen fühlen, was sie in tiefe Verlegenheit stürzt. Ganz und gar nicht angezogen fühlt sich Sophie zu ihrem danach eintreffenden künftigen Ehemann und dessen grobem Verhalten.
Als Faninal und Ochs sich nebenan der Unterzeichnung des Ehevertrags widmen, gestehen sich Octavian und Sophie ihre Zuneigung. Valzacchi und Annina ertappen sie bei einem Kuss. Ochs ist darüber nicht erbost, auch dann nicht, als Octavian ihm mitteilt, dass Sophie ihn nicht heiraten wolle. Als ihn dann der junge Widersacher in Rage zum Duell herausfordert und leicht mit dem Degen verletzt, löst das jedoch einen Tumult aus. Faninal wirft Octavian hinaus, fürchtet eine gesellschaftliche Blamage und will seine widerstrebende Tochter zur Heirat zwingen.
Inzwischen hat sich Ochs wieder berappelt und flucht auf Octavian und die Zustände in der Stadt. Seine Laune erhellt sich, als Annina ihm einen Brief von »Mariandl« bringt, die seine Einladung annimmt.


Dritter Aufzug 
Ochs empfängt »Mariandl« zum Souper und bemüht sich um eine romantische Atmosphäre. Allerdings fühlt er sich während seiner Annäherungsversuche immer wieder unangenehm an Octavian erinnert. Merkwürdige Erscheinungen werfen ihn zusehends aus der Bahn, bis die verkleidete Annina mit Kindern im Schlepptau hereinplatzt und Ochs vorwirft, sie – seine angebliche Ehefrau – sitzen gelassen zu haben. Der Krach ruft die Sittenpolizei auf den Plan. Der Kommissar verhört Ochs, der in die Enge getrieben »Mariandl« als seine Braut, das Fräulein Faninal, ausgibt. Da kommen die echte Braut und ihr fassungsloser Vater hinzu, der vor lauter Skandal einen Schwächeanfall erleidet. Während sich »Mariandl« wieder in Octavian verwandelt, trifft überraschend auch die Feldmarschallin ein. Sie beschwichtigt den Kommissar, klärt die Maskerade auf, erteilt den Hochzeitsplänen eine Absage und fordert Ochs nachdrücklich zur Abreise auf.
Die Marschallin bleibt allein mit Sophie und Octavian zurück, wobei sie deren Gefühle sofort durchschaut. Sie leistet Verzicht und gibt Octavian frei. Aber ob Octavian mit Sophie glücklich werden wird?

 

Pressestimmen

Programmbuch

Mehr erfahren